Retirement for Board Members

Sally Philip and Graeme Foster have retired from the East Grampians Health Service Board after combined service of 17 years. In addition to serving on the Board, they have both served as Board Presidents, Mrs Philip for 3 years and Mr Foster for 4 years.

Ms Philip joined the Board in 2006 and has held every Board leadership role including President, Vice President and Treasurer. During her tenure as President there were many highlights for EGHS notably the awarding of the Victorian Health Ministers award for achieving a ‘Highly Capable and Engaged Workforce’ in the Victorian Public Healthcare Awards.

Ms Staley said, “Ms Philip’s work with Grampians Medicare Local and her strong background in Human Resource Management has helped influence EGHS’ leadership role in workforce transformation. Her commitment to the establishment of EGHS as a Centre for Excellence for Learning cannot be under estimated. She is passionate about education and the benefits to both the community and staff. Under Ms Philip’s leadership EGHS created an educated and sustainable workforce”.

Mr Foster joined the Board in 2004 and made a profoundly positive contribution to EGHS.

His lasting legacy is in both the built form of the hospital and in the links the Health Service has with the Ararat and Willaura communities. As Vice-Chair of the Building for the Future appeal Mr Foster was integral in raising of over $1million.

Under Mr Foster’s leadership, the EGHS Building For the Future Foundation was established creating a secure corpus of funds for the benefit of the Health Service, and ultimately the local community.

Ms Staley said, “Mr Foster exhibited tremendous leadership and as a local business owner, his many years’ experience of this community has translated into a real understanding of people’s potential and a belief in their capabilities”.

Ms Staley also commented that Mr Foster embraced many aspects of the Health Service and participated enthusiastically in fundraising ventures such as the Murray to Moyne Cycle Relay.

Ms Staley said “Both Ms Philip and Mr Foster have made outstanding contributions to EGHS and to the health and wellbeing of our community

Members of the board are community members who oversee the strategic direction of EGHS. Members are appointed for one, two or three year terms by the Governor in Council and are accountable to the office of the Minister of Health.