Our Board

East Grampians Health Service was incorporated under the Health Services Act 1987 Part 3 by the Governor-In-council, acting under Section 64A and Section 65 of the Health Services Act (Vic) 1988. The incorporation came into effect on 1st July 1995.

East Grampians Health Service is accountable through its Board to the Minister for Health, The Hon Mary-Anne Thomas MP.

In accordance with The Health Services Act 1988, Division 4, Section 33, the Board has affirmed that the Management Group and staff will carry out the Policies and Procedures of East Grampians Health Service with due diligence.

The men and women who represent the Community on the Board are recommended by the Minister and appointed by the Governor-In-Council. The term of office for a member of the Board is usually three years.

Members of the Board and Executive staff are required to lodge Declarations of Pecuniary Interest to the Chairperson prior to each Board meeting.

Governance Process

Overarching Governance Process

The Board’s charter is to ensure that East Grampians Health Service achieves it mission and key strategic goals, in accordance with the By-Laws of EGHS and, in doing so, avoids reasonably foreseeable unacceptable actions and situations

Board Role

To facilitate appropriate organisational performance, the Board will develop and monitor Board-level policies which provide direction and boundaries for both its own and CEO’s functions. The Board will develop the following:

  • Strategic Goals
  • Governance Process policies
  • Board/CEO Linkage policies.

Ken Weldin

Board Chair

Cameron Evans

Vice Chair

Kym Peter


Sybil Abbott-Burmeister

Board Director

Cameron Montgomery

Board Director

Kim White

Board Director

Lisa Davidson

Board Director

Megan Shea

Board Director

Debbie Rybicki

Board Director